This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.

Health Links

We want our clients to be able to access reliable and accurate sources of healthcare information. To help you achieve this we have gathered together a collection of sites that we feel are most likely to provide answers to your health questions.

Click on the attached links for helpful information and leaflets on medical conditions

CANCER

Breast Cancer - http://www.breastcancer.org/

Breast Cancer Care - http://www.breastcancercare.org.uk/

Cancer Research - http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/

Cancer Backup - http://www.cancerbackup.org.uk/

Lung Cancer - http://www.lungcanceronline.org/

Macmillan Cancer Relief - http://www.macmillan.org.uk/

Mesothelioma and other asbestos related cancers - http://asbestos.com

Mesothelioma Survival Rate  - http://www.mesotheliomasymptoms.com/mesothelioma-survival-rate

Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance - www.mesothelioma.com

Mesothelioma Group - http://www.mesotheliomagroup.com/

Prostate Cancer Research - http://www.prostateuk.org/ 

CARDIOVASCULAR DISEASE

British Heart Foundation - http://www.bhf.org.uk/

British Hypertension Society - http://www.bhsoc.org/

Resuscitation Council - http://www.resus.org.uk/

Stroke Association - http://www.stroke.org.uk

GASTROENTEROLOGY

Coeliac Society - http://www.coeliac.org.uk

National Association for Colitis and Crohn's Disease - www.nacc.org.uk

LIFESTYLE

Alcohol Concern - http://www.alcoholconcern.org.uk/

Eat Well - http://www.eatwell.gov.uk/

Family Planning Association - http://www.fpa.org.uk

Men's Health - http://www.menshealthforum.org.uk

Stopping Smoking - http://www.smokefree.nhs.uk/ and http://www.ash.org.uk

Women's Health - http://www.womenshealth.org

MENTAL HEALTH

Anxiety - http://www.livinglifetothefull.com

Anger Management - http://www.angermanage.co.uk  

Depression Alliance - http://www.depressionalliance.org

Drug Abuse - http://www.release.org.uk

Drugs- Talk to Frank - http://www.talktofrank.com

Eating Disorders - http://www.b-eat.co.uk

First Steps to Freedom - http://www.first-steps.org

National Association for Mental Health - http://www.mind.org.uk

Panic - http://www.nopanic.org.uk

Phobias - http://www.anxiety.org.uk

Postnatal Depression - http://www.pandasfoundation.org.uk

Self Harm - http://www.thesite.org

Stress - http://www.stress.org.uk

Workplace Bullying - http://www.jfo.org.uk

Workplace Stress - www.hse.gov.uk/stress

MUSCULOSKELETAL

Arthritis and Rheumatism Council - http://www.arc.org.uk

Back Pain Charity - http://www.backcare.org.uk

National Osteoporosis Society - http://www.nos.org.uk

PATIENT INFORMATION/LEAFLETS

Embarrassing Problems - http://www.embarassingproblems.com/  

Lab Tests Online - http://www.labtestsonline.org.uk/

Netdoctor - http://www.netdoctor.co.uk

Patient Information Leaflets - http://www.cks.library.nhs.uk/

Patient UK Medical Condition Leaflets - http://www.patient.co.uk/

Patient UK Medical Directory Database - www.patient.co.uk/topics.asp

Self Help - http://www.self-help.org.uk

Surgery Door - http://www.surgerydoor.co.uk/

OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

Health and Safety Executive - www.hse.gov.uk

Society of Occupational Medicine - https://www.som.org.uk/

Faculty of Occupational Medicine - http://www.facoccmed.ac.uk/

IOSH - http://www.iosh.co.uk/

OTHER/GENERAL

Alzheimer's Society - http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/  

Asthma UK - http://www.asthma.org.uk/

Blood Transfusion Service - http://www.blood.co.uk

British Epilepsy Association - http://www.epilepsy.org.uk/

British Liver Trust - http://www.britishlivertrust.org.uk/

British Thoracic Society/Lung Disease - http://www.brit-thoracic.org.uk/

Child Protection - www.surreycc.gov.uk/safeguarding  

Continence Foundation - http://www.continence-foundation.org.uk/

Diabetes UK - http://www.diabetes.org.uk/

Immunisations -Child and Adult - http://www.patient.co.uk

Migraine Association - http://www.migraine.org.uk/

National Eczema Society - http://www.eczema.org

Royal National Institute for Deaf People - http://www.mid.org.uk/

TRAVEL ADVICE

Foreign and Commonwealth - www.fco.gov.uk/en/

Medical Advice for Foreign Destinations - http://www.fitfortravel.scot.nhs.uk/

GOVERNMENT

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service - http://www.acas.org.uk/

Centre for Disease Control and Prevention - http://www.cdc.gov/

Department of Health - http://www.dh.gov.uk/  

Employee Assistance Association - http://www.eapa.org.uk/

Equal Opportunities Commission - http://www.equalityhumanrights.com/

Government Statistics - http://www.statistics.gov.uk/

Health and Safety Executive - http://www.hse.gov.uk/  

Institute of Occupational Health and Safety - http://www.iosh.co.uk

MEDICAL ORGANISATIONS/JOURNALS

British Medical Association - http://www.bma.org.uk

British Medical Journal - http://www.bmj.com

Free Assess to other Medical Journals - http://www.freemedicaljournals.com

General Medical Council - http://www.gmc-uk.org

National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence - http://www.nice.org.uk

Royal College of General Practitioners - http://www.rcgp.org.uk

Royal College of Physicians - http://www.rcplondon.ac.uk

Royal College of Surgeons - http://www.rcseng.ac.uk

Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists - http://www.rcog.org.uk

Royal College of Nursing - http://www.rcn.org.uk

NHS ORGANISATIONS

National Health Service - http://www.nhs.uk/

NHS Direct - http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/

Further Information

    Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website